Home / World / Sports / Rabada in ICC team of the year

Rabada in ICC team of the year

ON TOP OF THE WORLD…Proteas fast bowler, Kagiso Rabada, is the only South African cricketer in the 2018 ICC Test Team of the Year                                                            Pic: Supplied

South African pace bowler, Kagiso Rabada, is the only Proteas player to make it into the 2018 International Cricket Council (ICC) Test Team of the Year released by the cricket governing body today (Tuesday 22 Jan).

Rabada, who sits atop the ICC Bowlers World rankings list, was included together other bowlers such as Mohammed Abbas of Pakistan, Jasprit Bumrah of India and Australia’s off-spinner, Nathan Lyon.

Indian legend, Virat Kohli, has been named as captain of both the 2018 ICC Test Team as well as the One Day International (ODI) sides. Kohli also captained the 2017 team.

New Zealand and India dominated the Test squad with three players each, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson and Henry Nicholls making the cut for the New Zealanders while Kohli, wicket-keeper, Risbah Pant and Jasprit Bumrah raised the flag for India. Sri Lanka, South Africa, Pakistan, Australia and West Indies have one player each.

No south African player made it to the ODI squad for 2018. England and India, ranked top and second on the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s ODI Team rankings, dominated the ODI team contributing four players each, with Rohit Sharma, Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah for India while England have Johnny Bairstow, Jos Butler, Joe Root and Ben Stokes. New Zealand, Afghanistan and Bangladesh have one player each in the form of Ross Taylor, Rashid Khan and Mustafizur Rahman respectively.


About Trendzz

Check Also

Registrations for FS O.R. Tambo Marathon still open

Registrations for the 3rd annual Free State O. R. Tambo Marathon for both individuals and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *