Home / World / Sports / Kagiso Rabada bowls out cricket history

Kagiso Rabada bowls out cricket history

BIG WINNERS…Dane van Niekkerk and Kagiso Rabada are the 2018 Women’s Cricketer of the Year and Men’s Cricketer of the Year respectively. They are joined by CSA president, Chris Nenzani (extreme left) and Sports Minister, Thoko Xasa (third from left) at Sandton on Saturday                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Pic: CSA

The current world top wicket-taker and South Africa cricket fast bowler, Kagiso Rabada, engraved his name in the history books by becoming the first player to win six accolades at the Cricket South Africa (CSA) awards function on Saturday evening in Sandton, Johannesburg.

This is the second time Rabada has achieved the feat after having done it in the 2016 season.

Rabada was named the Cricketer of the Year, the Standard Bank Test Cricketer of the Year, the Standard Bank ODI Cricketer of the Year as well as the SA Players’ Player of the Year. The bowler’s dismissal of Australia’s David Warner in the third Sunfoil Test at Newlands in March was also judged to be the RAM Delivery of the Year.

Rabada now joins the elite club of players that includes AB de Villiers (2014 and 2015), Hashim Amla (2010 and 2013), Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006), and Jacques Kallis (20014 and 2011) who have all won the Cricketer of the Year award twice.

Retiring star batsman, AB de Villiers, walked away with the Standard Bank T20 International Player of the Year while the International Newcomer of the Year award went to 23-year old Aiden Markram who scored 1 000 runs in his debut Test season.

David Miller won the KFC Colonel’s Always Original Award for his record T20 International century against Bangladesh.

In the Women’s category, Dane van Niekerk shined when she clinched the Women’s Cricketer of the Year award. She is ranked No. 2 all-rounder in the international women’s game and No. 9 best bowler.

About Trendzz

Check Also

Olivier exploits excite Knights

Free State cricket franchise, VKB Knights, have congratulated the team’s fast bowler, Duanne Olivier, on …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *