Home / World / Entertainment / Glitz and glamour beckons at DStvMVCA show

Glitz and glamour beckons at DStvMVCA show

DStvMVCA Sports Personality of the Year nominee, Wayde vana Niekerk

South Africans will now have a chance to watch their very own TV awards show, the DStv Mzansi Viewers’ Choice Awards (DStvMVCA), where television audiences will vote for their favourite personalities in 10 different categories.

The recently announced inaugural awards show will be beamed live on DSTV’s M-Net Mzansi Magic (Channel 161) on 26 August with Bonang “Queen B” Matheba as the host.

The DStvMVCA seeks to honour talent in music, sport, comedy and acting.

Three Free State personalities, Olympic 400m record holder, Wayde van Niekerk, radio personality, Ba2cada and musician, Prince Kaybee, have been included in the list of nominees for the awards. Viewers are encouraged to participate in the voting exercise which started at midnight on 21 June. Each viewer will be allowed to vote up to 100times on the SMS, USSD or WeChat platforms.

Other nominees include Tumi Morake in the Best Comedian category, Black Coffee (Best DJ), Pearl Modiadie (Best TV presenter), Cassper Nyovest (Music Artist of the Year), among others.

Radio Personality of the Year nominee, Ba2cada/ Photo credit: LesediFM

Track sensation, Wayde van Niekerk, will battle it out with another runner, Caster Semenya, Proteas bowler, Kagiso Rabada, French-based soccer player, Keagan Dolly and speedster, Akani Simbine for the Best Sports Personality award.

In the Radio Personality category, LesediFM presenter, Ba2cada will have to shrug off the challenge of T-Bose, Tbo Touch, Anele Mdoda and Sgqemeza.
Kaybee has been nominated in two categories, Song of the Year for “Charlotte” as well as the DJ of the Year section.

MEC for Sport, Art, Culture and Recreation in the Free State, Mathabo Leeto has congratulated the three provincial representatives in the inaugural DStvMVCA.

“These nominated personalities have once more affirmed our view that the Free State Province is the cradle of talent in our country. We continue to produce artists and athletes that proudly fly the South African flag at world stages. We are indeed the home of champions and through these Free State nominees in the DSTV Mzansi Viewers’ Choice Awards we are confident that our province will be well represented,” said MEC Mathabo Leeto.

The Department has consistently supported the trio through various programmes such as the Mangaung African Cultural Festival (MACUFE), SA Sports Awards, Free State Sport Science Institute. MEC Leeto is urging the people of the Free State province to pledge their unwavering support and to vote for these three nominees in their greatest numbers to ensure that they bring accolades home.

Voting Details;

On WeChat add ID mzansimagictv and vote up to 100 times for free. Data charges apply.

On SMS, send an SMS that cost R1.50 (no free SMS’s apply) with the number in the brackets next to the name of each nominee (see the nominees list below), for instance 1A, 2A etc. to 39201. SMS votes are limited to 100 votes.

To vote through USSD, send the nominee keyword (for instance 1A, 2A), using *120*33033#. Votes are limited to 100 votes. No charges are applicable.


Full List of Nominees:

  1. Song of The Year
    A. Musa ft Robbie Malinga – Mthande
    B. Black Motion – Imali
    C. Bhizer ft Busiswa, SC Gorna, Bhepepe – Gobisiqolo
    D. OkMalumKoolKat – Gqi
    E. Prince Kaybee – Charlotte
  2. TV Presenter
    A. Robert Marawa
    B. Pearl Modiadie
    C. Phat Joe
    D. Bonang Matheba
    E. Thembisa Mdoda
  3. Comedian
    A. Skhumba
    B. Summary
    C. Celeste Ntuli
    D. Tumi Morake
    E. Mashabela
  4. Rising Star
    A. Amanda Black
    B. Zamani Mbatha
    C. Michelle Mosalakae
    D. Sjava
    E. Andile Phehlukwayo
  5. Radio Personality
    A. T-Bose
    B. Tbo Touch
    C. Anele Mdoda
    D. Sgqemeza
    E. Ba2cada
  6. Actor
    A. Ntokozo Dlamini
    B. Warren Masemola
    C. Siyabonga Thwala
    D. Sello Maake Ka – Ncube
    E. Themba Ndaba
  7. Actress
    A. Vatiswa Ndara
    B. Thuso Mbedu
    C. Masasa Mbangeni
    D. Lorcia Cooper
    E. Dawn Thandeka King
  8. Music Artist or Group
    A. Lebo Sekgobela
    B. Black Motion
    C. AKA
    D. Cassper Nyovest
    E. Kwesta
  9. DJ
    A. Black Coffee
    B. DJ Zinhle
    C. Prince Kaybee
    D. DJ Shimza
    E. Tira
  10. Sports Personality:  A. Caster Semenya      B. Wayde van Niekerk       C. Kagiso Rabada       D. Keagan Dolly E. Akani Simbine

About Trendzz

Check Also

Arts industry loses another gem

The South African arts industry has been plunged into an abyss of sadness following the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *